Lok Sabha elections 2019 phase 5 will be held on Monday, 6 May


In the fifth of the seven phases of general election 2019 to be held on Monday, May 6, in 51 parliamentary constituencies across 7 states. Voting will take place in a number of seats in Uttar Pradesh, Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, West Bengal, Bihar, Jharkhand, and Jammu and Kashmir.

A total of 674 candidates are in the list, some of them are political heavyweights. Eyes will be on Uttar Pradesh. Of the 14 seats where polling will be conducted in the fifth phase in the state are Lucknow, Amethi and Rae Bareli while Jammu and Kashmir will see two constituencies going to polls. This is the first election in Ladakh division following its split from the Kashmir division earlier this year. Other States going to polls are Rajasthan (12 constituencies), Madhya Pradesh (7), West Bengal (7), Bihar (5) and Jharkhand (4).

Congress president Rahul Gandhi will see his political future getting decided by the voters of both Rae Bareli and Amethi as Amethi is his parliamentary seat. Though both Rae Bareli and Amethi are the traditional stronghold of the Gandhi family — will witness a heated contest between Congress and BJP heavy weights. The 48-year-old Congress chief played a gamble by also contesting from Wayanad – where voting was conducted in the third phase. 
In Rae Bareli, former Congress president Sonia Gandhi who has held the seat from 2004, will face former Congress leader and current BJP candidate Dinesh Pratap Singh.


In Amethi, Congress president Rahul Gandhi will fight against sitting Minister Smrithi Irani. Home Minister Rajnath Singh is contesting from Lucknow, the parliamentary seat from where he won in 2014. The fifth phase is the smallest in terms of seats. Over 8 crore 75 lakh voters are expected to cast their votes in this phase. A total of 96,088 polling booths have been set up. Madhya Pradesh has the highest mean average number of booths per constituency at 2,177. 

Polling is expected to begin at 7 am and end by 5 pm.


Here is the State-wise list of constituencies.

Bihar: Sitamarhi, Madhubani, Muzaffarpur, Saran and Hajipur.


Rajasthan: Ganganagar, Bikaner, Churu, Jhunjhunu, Sikar, Jaipur Rural, Jaipur, Alwar, Bharatpur, Karauli-Dholpur, Dausa and Nagaur.


Jammu and Kashmir: Ladakh and Anantnag.

Jharkhand: Kodarma, Ranchi, Khunti and Hazaribagh.


Uttar Pradesh: Dhaurahra, Sitapur, Mohanlalganj, Lucknow, Rae Bareli, Amethi, Banda, Fatehpur, Kaushambi, Barabanki, Faizabad, Bahraich, Kaiserganj and Gonda.


West Bengal: Bangaon, Barrackpore, Howrah, Uleberia, Sreerampur, Hooghly and Arambag.


Madhya Pradesh: Tikamgarh, Damoh, Khajuraho, Satna, Rewa, Hoshangabad and Betul.


Leave a Reply