The Last Phase Of Lok Sabha Election 2019 Is Ongoing

Phase 7, which is the last phase of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019 is currently currently taking place. Total fifty nine parliamentary constituencies are going to the polls in this phase in seven states and one union territory. The states and Union Territories that are going to the polls today are Bihar (8), Jharkhand (3), Madhya Pradesh (8), Punjab (13), West Bengal (9), Uttar Pradesh (13), Himachal Pradesh (4) and Chandigarh (1).


More than 10 crore voters will decide the fate of 918 candidates in this clash. Some of the key constituencies to go to the polls today are Varanasi that is Prime Minister Narendra Modi's home domain, Patna Sahib that will see Shatrughan Sinha contesting against union minister Ravi Shankar Prasad, Chandigarh that has BJP leader Kirron Kher in the field, and Gurdaspur where BJP's Sunny Deol and Congress' Sunil Jakhar will fight it out. Four Union ministers, Ravi Shankar Prasad, Ram Kripal Yadav, RK Singh and Ashwini Kumar Choubey, are among the 157 candidates in Bihar. Additionally, bypoll is being conducted in Panaji, entailed due to the death of former chief minister Manohar Parrikar in March.


Bye-elections are also be held in four assembly constituencies of Tamil Nadu - Sulur, Aravakurichi, Ottapidaram (SC) and Thiruparankundram - and the Dehri assembly seat in Bihar. The result will be announced on 23 May.

Leave a Reply